Fish Congee, Recipe #1

We all have some kind of dish that conjures up fond memories of a loved one, our childhood, or of fun some event. For me, it’s a nice bowl of hot congee soup with white fish; it reminds me of my sweet Mother who happens to be an extremely TALENTED cook. I use her techniques; however, now that I feel more comfortable with the recipe, I branch out a bit and  tailor the ingredients to my tastebuds. I love color and the fresh crunch of raw or al dente veggies in my meals.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 cup broken jasmine rice ~ uncooked, scoured clean
  • 1 large yellow onion ~ thinly sliced
  • 1 bulb garlic ~ peeled, smashed
  • 4 large fillets of white fish ~ I used Swai
  • 1 cup fresh scallions ~ chopped
  • 1 cup fresh cilantro ~ leaves only, chopped
  • 2 cups fresh sugar snap peas
  • 2 bunches of bunashimeji mushrooms

DIRECTIONS:

I’ll have to come back another day to fill out the “directions” part of this recipe. I’m tired. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Fish Congee, Recipe #1

Leave a Reply

